In the IPL 2025 game between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Gujarat Titans, Shubman Gill was visibly agitated following a disputed review decision. Abhishek Sharma was struck on the boot, and in a glitch on the ball-tracking system, which omitted the pivotal detail of how the ball pitched, the Titans sought a review. In spite of the muddle, there was a charged exchange between the umpires and Gill, in which he let out his angst. Ultimately, the review held, and Gujarat retained their challenge, but the moment created many questions left unanswered. Watch here: A heated moment between Shubman Gill and the umpire. pic.twitter.com/DYcwHdh9Ta — Mufaddal Vohra (@mufaddal_vohra) May 2, 2025 The third umpire also scrutinized the replay several times before coming to a conclusive decision. The primary source of uncertainty in the dismissal was due to the fact that the ball struck the stumps at the same time that the gloves of the wicketkeeper dislodged the bails. There was real uncertainty as to whether it was the ball or the gloves that removed the bails. But after repeated questioning and deliberation, the umpire decided that the bails were knocked off fairly – the ball being instrumental in the dismissal. Thus, Shubman Gill was out. He had played a great knock, making 76 runs from only 38 balls, but had to leave the crease under suspicious conditions. Also Read | Pahalgam Attack: India blocks Instagram accounts of Babar Azam, Rizwan and others Gill was obviously not pleased with the decision. Cameras captured him looking angry and disappointed as he made his way back to the dressing room. The tension did not stop there. Gujarat Titans captain was spotted having a heated argument with the match officials on the sidelines, visibly agitated about the decision and the manner in which it was made. Under the rules of the ICC, for a batsman to be dismissed particularly in situations of close run-out or stumping the stumps have to be broken lawfully and honestly. That implies that the ball has to distinctly be the source of the removal of the bail, not gloves or the body of the fielder. Notwithstanding the furore, the third umpire remained firm in his judgement, declaring that the ball played a rightful part in dislodging the stumps and thereby confirming the dismissal in favor of the fielding side.