During the fourth innings of the second Test between India and England, debates rose regarding Akash Deep's wicket-taking delivery of Joe Root on day 4. The fans and the commentators claimed it to be a no-ball, but the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) dismissed all claims, calling it absolutely legal. The England-based law-makers of cricket label Akash's delivery as legal and said that it was within the rules. MCC issued an official statement and said, “On Day four of India’s Test against England last week, there were questions raised about the delivery from Akash Deep which bowled Joe Root, with some fans and commentators believing it to be a no ball. While Deep landed unusually wide on the crease, and some of his back foot appeared to touch the ground outside the return crease, the third umpire did not call a no ball. MCC is happy to clarify that this was a correct decision in Law." It added, “For a delivery to be fair in respect of the feet, in the delivery stride the bowler’s back foot must land within and not touching the return crease appertaining to his/her stated mode of delivery. MCC has always defined the moment that the back foot lands as the first point of contact with the ground. As soon as there is any part of the foot touching the ground, that foot has landed, and it is the foot’s position at that time which is to be considered for a back foot no ball." Read also: India's Historic Win at Edgbaston: Gill Breaks Multiple Records What happened with the Joe Root dismissal? On Day 4 of the Test match, right-arm seamer Akash Deep delivered a ball from wide of the crease, bowling over the wicket. The delivery angled in before seaming away sharply to dismantle Joe Root’s off-stump. However, replays sparked debate, as a portion of his back foot appeared to be overlapping the return crease — the pair of white lines running parallel to the pitch beside the stumps. Despite the visual impression, the third umpire ruled it a legal delivery. As several commentators clarified during the broadcast, what counts is the position of the bowler’s foot at the point of initial contact with the ground. In Akash Deep’s case, the heel was still within the return crease at that moment, confirming the ball was fair. Noatbly, Akash Deep ended the Test with 10 wickets, being the second Indian after Chetan Sharma to do so in England.