The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2025 has been hit by another controversy. The game between Delhi Capitals (DC) and Rajasthan Royals (RR) at Arun Jaitley Stadium was a nail-biter and required a Super Over to decide the winner. Delhi Capital's Mitchell Starc was the hero of the match with his outstanding bowling in the last over as well as the Super Over and he was adjudged as the Player of the Match. But an incident during the Super Over left fans puzzled, sparking a debate. On the fourth ball of the Super Over, the third umpire called a no-ball since Starc's back foot crossed the return crease line. This call enraged many fans, particularly since a similar occurrence with Mumbai Indians (MI) spinner Vignesh Puthur earlier in the season was not called a no-ball. What Does the Rule Say? The cricket rulebook (Law 21.5) states: The back foot must land inside the return crease and not touch or go outside it. The front foot must land with some part behind the popping crease on the correct side. If these regulations are not obeyed, the umpire will have to call it a no-ball. Also Read | 'Doesn't make sense': Ambati Rayudu blasts Shubman Gill's captaincy What Happened with Vignesh Puthur? In Puthur's instance, many believed that the spinner has also crossed the line of the return crease. But when the video was checked, the actual visual told a completely different story: Seriously asking if Starc's one was a no ball, why these two balls by Vigesh Puthur wasn't given no ball?#IPL2025 pic.twitter.com/ooFrkRDuKB — KirikeT (@BhartiyaDesiFan) April 17, 2025 I can't post the videos because of copyright. But the balls were 14.5 & 14.6 vs. KKR for those who think the screenshots are edited.Posting a GIF here, where I see some part of the foot touching the crease on the first point of contact (freezed on it). pic.twitter.com/qwspzlhXYW — Jeet (Men's Cricket) (@Jeetv27) April 16, 2025 Vignesh Puthur came down on his toes within the crease and his heel crossed the line later. As the landing was legal, it was not given as a no-ball. What happened with Mitchell Starc? Backfoot No Ball by Mitchell Starc 💀#DCvsRR | #RRvsDC pic.twitter.com/hdZnbZjqY5 — KRISHNA X (@Maikrrishna) April 16, 2025 Starc's back foot came down fully outside the return crease and because of this, the third umpire declared it a no-ball without any double thoughts. They declared it as a no-ball because the rules state so. Also Read | Watch: MS Dhoni chases Deepak Chahar with the bat before MI vs CSK match Starc vs Puthur - What's the Difference? View this post on Instagram A post shared by Jatin Sapru (@jatin_sapru) Mitchell Starc Starc's foot came down outside the crease - No-ball Vignesh Puthur's foot came down inside, then moved out - Legal It was this subtle variation in when and how the foot came down that made one ball legal and the other illegal. When it comes to the return crease, the first contact of the back-foot is considered to give the decision on no-ball. Following the match, spectators were quick to identify the two instances and raised questions over umpiring. However, upon closer examination of both deliveries, the umpires' decisions were accurate based on rules. They both appeared to be the same delivery, but they were not. The timing of the landing is crucial. This is why Mitchell Starc was given a no-ball and Vignesh Puthur was not. The umpires did well by adhering to the rules as they should.